I am beginning to think firsts will be coming more and more. I went to Disney World with my husband and daughter. I had been going back and forth on getting a scooter to conserve my energy. Boy am I glad I gave in and got one! There was no way I could have walked that much. I don’t know what I was thinking.

Actually I do. I didn’t want to have to need a scooter. I don’t want to have to rely on other people and things to get thru my day. It isn’t about what I want but what I need. No one wants to have to rely on a scooter to take their child to Disney for the first time. It just isn’t how I pictured it. Pride is a pain huh? I pray for what I need rather than want.  I am trying to ask for help rather than figure how I can do it myself, which leads to overdoing it. I am not good at pacing myself yet. Knowing that this is what my life is and what I wanted it to be….well not easy to get a grip on. I am trying though. Some days are better than others. I am grateful that I do not rely on a scooter daily as others do. When that day comes (my daughter told me she was going to get me a scooter for Christmas…sweet and sad all at once for me) I will deal with it. My family, friends and of course God will help me deal. More firsts are coming, that I am sure of.

